Queensland rocks my socks Part 2! – by Tomato

Hey there y’all! After much procrastination, it’s probably time I find some time to finish writing up my super overdue entry on Queensland. Well, in the midst of travelling, everyone must eat. In fact, food is one of the main attractions when travelling abroad, no?  So I thought I should to do a review of the restaurants and snacks that I’ve munched on during my trip. Just so you guys know, I’m not a food critic, but I’m pretty sure I know the difference between what is delicious and what is yucky. Here goes…

Most of the time, we ordered a dish each and share it among the 6 of us. This way, we get to try more food, as well as to share the calories together!

Aussie World Cafe

73 Frizzo Rd, Bruce Highway, Palmview, QLD 4553

This is called Dampers, one of the local’s favourite snacks. Honestly, it tasted like a cross between muffin and bread, nothing special. I took the one with the whipped cream and I totally regretted it. Not because it was too sweet, but because I cannot imagine how much fat I’ve consumed.  The one with only the jam would have tasted awesome.

Poet’s Café

167 Main Street, Montville, QLD 4560

Pan Fried Salt & Pepper Calamari

When I saw calamari on the menu, I had to order it. But it turned out to be not what I expected. Instead of being the golden-fried squid we normally see in Singapore, this one looks so “smooth”. And holy mama, it tasted really appetizing, I could eat the whole plate myself!

Garlic Turkish Bread

This is really nice! The bread is soft and slightly chewy. Plus the garlic taste is just nice. Top it up with some olive oil, wooo.. perfecto! And doesn’t it look like it is specially made for dipping into a warm creamy mushroom soup?  Well, too bad we didn’t order any soup. Booo..

Poet’s Beef Burger

I was the one who ordered this and unfortunately, this had the most left-overs. I think it‘s because eating such humungous burgers is always a chore. Seriously, I never understand how people can eat such burgers. It’s either their mouth are super big, or they cut up the burger into smaller portions and make a huge mess on the plate. The fries were good though, but the patty was FAIL.

Grilled Local Scallops

Scallops will never go wrong. Plus this one has bacon in it! I say.. THIS IS A MUST-TRY!  The only bad thing about this is the raw vegetables. Haha. I don’t even know what vegetable is that.

Traditional Garlic Prawn

MY FAVOURITE DISH! The prawns are soaked in garlic oil or something, but surprisingly, there wasn’t a oh-my-god-I’m-eating-oil kind of taste to it. In fact, the garlic oil made the prawns really aromatic and juicy! I would give this dish a 5 star rating.

The Boathouse Restaurant

14 Gympie Terrace, Noosaville, QLD 4566

Local Mooloolaba Prawns with Crusty Bread

This is an appetizer, but the portion is so big, it actually looks more like a main course. It’s crunchy and tasty! And the best part? There is not much peeling to do! Don’t you just hate peeling prawn shells?

Salt and Pepper Calamari with Chili Jam

One thing I found out after my 1st day in Queensland is that the locals love calamari! They serve calamari dish in almost every restaurant! This one looks more like the one we see in Singapore, except for the shape. It was nice at first, but subsequently, it became saltier and saltier. And chili jam is just the locals’ way of calling chili sauce.

Honey Roasted Duck Breast with Sweet Potato Rosti, Broccolini, and Roasted Local Tomato

I thought the duck was a little too dry for my liking. They didn’t give me enough of those honey sauce! This is not bad, but definitely not great!

Beefy’s Aussie World

Shop 3 Frizzo Rd, Palmview, QLD 4553

Steak and Mushroom Pie

The pastry is crisp and the beef chunks inside are really succulent and tasty! The mushroom sauce completes the whole pie. Our guide told us it’s the best beef pie in Australia. I say it’s the BEST! You have to try it! Even though I just had my breakfast before this, I still managed to finish the whole pie within minutes. It’s that good!

Hot Pipi’s

3/11 The Esplanade, Mooloolaba, QLD 4557

Sautéed Mushroom

Mushroom is LOVE! A very good choice for a starter! Everyone loves this dish! The mushrooms are filled with juice. Once you sink your teeth in, savory sauce just bursts out inside your mouth and slides down your throat. Yummeh!

Seafood Curry

All the steaks and bread are making me miss Asian food! And look what I found! It’s a mix of Indian and Western cuisine, served with papadam somemore. Delectable and spicy, I just couldn’t stop shoving more rice into my mouth.

Cru Bar and Cellar

22 James Street, Fortitude Valley, QLD 4006

Fresh Oyster

Why didn’t anyone in Singapore think of serving oysters in such a way? Just pop the oysters in your mouth and you are ready for the next! It’s awesome for lazy people like me. No mess! And yup, they were super fresh!

Roast Pork

 Six words! It’s so yummy, I’m gonna die! Fullstop.

 

Right, that’s all folks! I’m too lazy to continue. The food is making me hungry again. *Yawn* I just want to say.. the food was really awesome, but expensive though.

About GoWhereDoWhat

Founded in 1965, Chan Brothers Travel Pte Ltd has since grown to become one of the largest tour operator and travel agent in the region, strongly recognised as a household name and definitely an Travel Icon. With over 500 staffs in Singapore, Malaysia, Jakarta and Shanghai, we take pride in our consistent efforts to offer our customers with the best value and innovative tour packages that redefines travel. Our reliability and entrepreneurial spirit over the past 50 years have successfully earned us more than 50 prestigious local and international awards.
This entry was posted in Australia, Queensland, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment